Home | NEWS | Italian Open: Karolina Pliskova smashes a hole in the umpire's chair
❰❰ USC let gynecologist treat students for decades despite sex complaints
Five people shot dead and one wounded at Texas home ❱❱

Italian Open: Karolina Pliskova smashes a hole in the umpire's chair

  • Pliskova furiously whacked a hole in the umpire chair with her racquet after being upset by Greece's Maria Sakkari in the second round of the Italian Open
  • At 5-5 in the third, Pliskova got in an animated dispute after she had an overhead smash called out. The chair umpire acknowledged that she 'lost' the ball mark
  • Replays showed Pliskova was right but it was too late to convince the lineperson, umpire, and supervisor, all of whom had no choice but to uphold the original call

By Alex Raskin Sports News Editor For Dailymail.com and Associated Press

Published: 12:24 EDT, 16 May 2018 | Updated: 16:41 EDT, 16 May 2018

After a bad call led to her defeat on Wednesday, the world's former No. 1-ranked women's tennis player Karolina Pliskova not only took her frustration out on the chair umpire, but the umpire's chair as well.

Pliskova, the No. 6 seed at the Italian Open, furiously whacked a hole into the foundation of the umpire chair with her racquet after being upset by Greece's Maria Sakkari in the second round.

At first Pliskova seemed to be adhering to tennis protocol at the end of the match by extending her hand to ostensibly shake that of umpire Marta Mrozinska, with whom she had a lengthy argument only moments earlier. But the Czech tennis star then quickly pulled her hand back and began smashing her racquet into the chair, much to the surprise of the visibly startled Sakkari.

At first Karolina Pliskova seemed to be extending her hand to shake that of umpire Marta Mrozinska in spite of a lengthy argument between the two only moments earlier. But the Czech tennis star then quickly pulled her hand back and began smashing her racquet  into the chair, much to the surprise of the visibly startled Maria Sakkari (right)
At first Karolina Pliskova seemed to be extending her hand to shake that of umpire Marta Mrozinska in spite of a lengthy argument between the two only moments earlier. But the Czech tennis star then quickly pulled her hand back and began smashing her racquet  into the chair, much to the surprise of the visibly startled Maria Sakkari (right)

At first Karolina Pliskova seemed to be extending her hand to shake that of umpire Marta Mrozinska in spite of a lengthy argument between the two only moments earlier. But the Czech tennis star then quickly pulled her hand back and began smashing her racquet  into the chair, much to the surprise of the visibly startled Maria Sakkari (right)

At 5-5 in the third, Pliskova (left) got in an animated dispute with Mrozinska (right) after she had an overhead smash called out. Mrozinska acknowledged that she 'lost' the ball mark and therefore said the point should be awarded to Sakkari. On the next point, Sakkari converted a break then served her way to victory in the following game
At 5-5 in the third, Pliskova (left) got in an animated dispute with Mrozinska (right) after she had an overhead smash called out. Mrozinska acknowledged that she 'lost' the ball mark and therefore said the point should be awarded to Sakkari. On the next point, Sakkari converted a break then served her way to victory in the following game

At 5-5 in the third, Pliskova (left) got in an animated dispute with Mrozinska (right) after she had an overhead smash called out. Mrozinska acknowledged that she 'lost' the ball mark and therefore said the point should be awarded to Sakkari. On the next point, Sakkari converted a break then served her way to victory in the following game

The incident was ignited only a few minutes earlier.  

Replays showed that Pliskova was right, and that her shot was completely inside the line, but it was too late to convince the lineperson, umpire, and supervisor, all of whom had no choice but to uphold the original call
Replays showed that Pliskova was right, and that her shot was completely inside the line, but it was too late to convince the lineperson, umpire, and supervisor, all of whom had no choice but to uphold the original call

Replays showed that Pliskova was right, and that her shot was completely inside the line, but it was too late to convince the lineperson, umpire, and supervisor, all of whom had no choice but to uphold the original call

At 5-5 in the third, Pliskova got in an animated dispute with Mrozinska after she had an overhead smash called out. Mrozinska acknowledged that she 'lost' the ball mark and therefore said the point should be awarded to Sakkari. On the next point, Sakkari converted a break then served her way to victory in the following game. 

Replays would show that Pliskova was right, and that her shot was completely inside the line, but it was too late to convince the lineperson, umpire, and supervisor, all of whom had no choice but to uphold the original call.

Professional tennis does typically have an electronic challenge system in place, but that isn't the case on clay, where umpires rely on ball marks whenever disagreements arise.    

Afterwards Pliskova's coach Tomas Krupa was seen giving the finger to a fan who was taking a picture.

Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna immediately took to Twitter to share in the frustration. 

'The worst i have ever seen @wta and i hope this lady Marta Mrozinska will never ever judge any match of me or Karolina again #blacklistforever,' she wrote.  

Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna immediately took to Twitter to share in the frustration
Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna immediately took to Twitter to share in the frustration

Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna immediately took to Twitter to share in the frustration

Pliskova's coach Tomas Krupa was seen giving the finger to a fan who was taking a picture
Pliskova's coach Tomas Krupa was seen giving the finger to a fan who was taking a picture

Pliskova's coach Tomas Krupa was seen giving the finger to a fan who was taking a picture

Advertisement
Read more:

Article Tags

    No tags for this article

About the author

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:

Captcha
What's next